Hitta hit:
T-bana: Universitetet
Frescativägen 40

Ordinarie öppettider:
Tisdag–fredag 11–17
Lördag–söndag 10–18

  • Huvudmeny
Stefan Claesson

Stefan Claesson

Professor emeritus in isotope geology


Phone: +46 (0)8 519 540 42
E-mail: stefan.claesson@nrm.se

Billing and mailing address:

See the Staff and Contact page


  • Ph.D., Stockholm University, Sweden, 1981


  • Research in hard rock geology and isotope geology.

Research interests

My research is focused on the evolution of continental crust, studied primarily through age determinations and other isotope investiga-tions of rocks. Most of my work has concerned the Scandinavian Caledonides and the Precambrian crust in Sweden with surrounding areas. In recent years I have also been involved in projects in northwestern Russia and Ukraine, where I am particularly interested in the oldest crust.

The research is based on precise analysis of variations in isotope composition of different naturally occurring elements in rocks and minerals. I have also interested myself in the development of micro-analytical techniques. Most of my external funding has come from the Swedish Research Council.

Research projects

Other Professional Roles

  • Member of the Advisory Council of the Swedish Polar Research Secreteriat since 2011, appointed until the end of 2018.
  • Member of the Steering Committee of the Swedish LifeWatch consortium since 2011, appointed until the end of 2017.
  • Member of the Nobel Foundation Council of Trustees 2014-2017.
  • First Vice President of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences 2010-1013.
  • Chair of CETAF, the Consortium of European Taxonomic Facilities, 2006-2009.
  • Head of the Research Division at the Swedish Museum of Natural History 2000-2005.
  • Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences since 2001.
  • Chair of the Swedish non-profit association Geology Day 2002-2006
  • Chair of the Swedish pest insect group PRE-MAL, Pest Research and Education - Museums, Archives and Libraries, 2001-2013.
  • Chair of the Swedish National Committee for Geology 1999-2001.


  • Assar Hadding’s prize in Geology, shared with Martin Whitehouse 2016. Awarded by the Royal Physiographic Society of Lund 2016.
  • The European Union Cultural Heritage Prize Europa Nostra 2004, awarded to PRE-MAL during my period as PRE-MAL Chair.
  • The Wickman Prize in Geochemistry and Isotope Geology 2003, awarded by the Geological Society of Sweden.
  • Geologist of the Year 2001, awarded by the Geo-section of Naturvetarna, the Swedish Association of Professional Scientists.
  • Sigrid Arrhenius Stipend 1981, awarded by Stockholm University for outstanding thesis in Natural Sciences.