Hitta hit:
T-bana: Universitetet
Frescativägen 40

Ordinarie öppettider:
Tisdag–fredag 11–17
Lördag–söndag 10–18

  • Huvudmeny

Else Marie Friis

Professor emerita.


E-mail: else.marie.friis@nrm.se

Billing and Mailing Address:

See the Staff and Contacts page.


Mag. scient. University of Aarhus, Denmark, 1975

Lic. scient (PhD) University of Aarhus, Denmark, 1980


As professor emerita Eles Marie is not employed by the museum and does not have formal responsibilities, but takes part in the daily departmental work and continue her work with research and collections.

Research Interests

Else Marie works on the history of angiosperms (flowering plants), with an emphasis on reproductive biology, phylogeny and palaeoecology, based on the study of reproductive organs (flowers, fruits, seeds, stamens, pollen) from the Cretaceous (145-65 million years ago).

Else Marie's project is funded by the Swedish Research Council (VR).

Else Marie's research is often used to illustrate the front cover of scientific journals. Shown here are fossils of Early Cretaceous angiosperms on front covers from 2019.

Other Professional Roles

  1. Chief Editor, GRANA


Newly elected member of the America Academy of Arts and Sciences “This honor signifies the high regard in which you are held by leaders of your field and members throughout the nation”

Membership of other academies:

  • 1990 Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters
  • 1996 Royal Swedish Academy of Science
  • 1998 The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
  • 1998 Royal Physiographic Society, Lund, Sweden
  • 2002 The Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)
  • 2017 America Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 2020 Royal Society of London

Other distinctions:

  • 1985 Hans Gram Medal, Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters
  • 1992 Nils Rosén Linné Prize in Botany, Royal Physiographic Society, Sweden
  • 1999 Honorary Vice President for the XVI Intern. Bot. Congr., St. Louis, USA
  • 1999 Honorary doctor (filosofie doktor honoris causa), University of Uppsala, Sweden.
  • 2003 Honorary foreign member of the Linnean Society of London
  • 2003 “Excellent researcher 2003” award from the Swedish Research Council
  • 2005 Rolf Dahlgren Prize in Botany, Royal Physiographic Society, Sweden
  • 2007 “Geologist of the year” appointed by the Swedish Association of Scientists
  • 2009 Corresponding Member, Paläontologische Gesellschaft, Germany
  • 2012 Denmarks Geology Prize 2011 from the Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland (with Kaj Raunsgaard Pedersen)
  • 2014 Stora Linnémedaljen i Guld – Linneus gold medal from the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (”för hennes epokgörande forskning rörande blomväxternas uppkomst och tidiga evolution” – “for her groundbreaking research on flowering plants origin and early evolution”)
  • 2015 Ledamot av Nordstjärneorden 1. Klass (Knight 1st Class of the Order of the Polar Star)